Patient Reviews

Reviews for Wicker Park Eye Center

Patient Feedback

Your eyes help you see and process the world around you. Having good eye health is essential for a comfortable life so it's important to trust your eyes to a team of professionals who prioritize your needs above all else. We invite you to read through our reviews that have been written by patients just like you so you can envision the care you could receive when you trust the professionals at Wicker Park Eye Center in Chicago, IL with your eye health needs.

Filter57 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2021

Wicker Park Eye Center helped me immensely during my short stay in Chicago! I lost my contacts and didn't have glasses, and needed to drive 100 miles back home, and Tania from Wicker Park Eye Center was so kind and patient. Thank you again for all the help! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 10, 2021

Pleasant visit, short waiting. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 10, 2021

I had eye surgery and all went well. The Staff did a Job. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.L.  |  Source: Facebook  |  May 17, 2021

Dr Tepper is a great doctor. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.G.  |  Source: Google  |  May 10, 2021

It was a pleasant experience. Front desk was very welcoming and helpful. Cyanna and Gigi were very helpful and work with me on all my questions and picking out my glasses. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 10, 2021

I walked in and was seen within 5 minutes of arriving. The staff was so friendly and went above and beyond to help me More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 10, 2021

Very professional and awesome staff More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 10, 2021

Loved the environment and the people. Dr. SHAH WAS AWESOME! I wish I had found them years ago. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 10, 2021

Cyanna and Obie were a great help made me laugh and made my experience great More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 10, 2021

Great More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 10, 2021

From the very first time I visited here, I was impressed with the level of professionalism and excellent service they provided. They were very detail and answered all of my questions and concerns. Even my dad who recently started coming to this facility agrees with me as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 10, 2021

I visited Wicker Park Eye Center recently. I was greeted by very nice staff members. One particular staff is named Cyanna. She was very polite, courteous, helpful & knowledgable in answering my questions. She definitely put me at ease. The center has a very clean atmosphere. Thank you all for your service. A special thank you to Cyanna. I will definitely recommend Wicker Park Eye Center to my friends & family. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 10, 2021

If you are looking for a place to do laser hair removal go here! Ask for Cyanna Nieves. She was super friendly, professional, and made me feel so comfortable!. She definitely knows what she is doing and made me feel like she actually cared about me and my skin. Since I been getting my treatments I have noticed amazing results! I highly recommend this place if you are looking for the best. They also offer other services. I will definitely be going back and I can’t wait. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 10, 2020

Wonderful staff, great customer service! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 10, 2020

Love the friendly service and respectful staff More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 10, 2020

Wicker eye center is a very nice place. The staff is very nice. That why I told my daughter to go there she love it . Thank you all for being such a beautiful place. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 10, 2020

This Eye Center Treats It's Patients With The Upmost Care And Respect They Are Very Professional And Timely They Don't Rush Wonderful Staff And Location More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2020

Highly recommended to anyone looking for professional yet friendly eye care! I appreciate the personal touch provided by all staff: the eye doctors, assistants, and receptionists. The reception space is clean, bright, and welcoming, as are the people who work here! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2020

I went here for an urgent eye issue. They got me in to see the doctor within 30 minutes and were very kind from the minute I walked in the door. From the reception, to the tech, and the doctor - everyone was very sincere and helpful. I will definitely be going here for my routine eye care and would recommend to anyone! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2020

Great place doctor tepper is thorough and the staff is awesome sent reminders via text welcomed you in and made sure your visit was comfortable and quick great job there people keep it up More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2020

All the staff were great. Dr. Tepper was a calming experience; I'm not comfortable with people being too close! Surgeries were quick. everyone from Masonic were on the ball too! Eye sight is great, i can now see pot holes i usually drove through on my Harley! my girl friend is very happy. so is my back. Well recommended! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2020

Friendly, organized, and pretty punctual with appointments. I've never had any problems with Dr. Tepper, who's been my doctor for many years. If you have any questions, he will answer them thoroughly. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Y.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2020

Friendly and knowledgeable. Dr Tepper took the time to explain my treatment options. The space is nice and relaxing and the staff are pleasant. Highly recommend! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2020

The Dr. as well as the staff were amazing and friendly from the Minute I walked intill I walked out. They have a great glasses section. Onyx the girl who sells the glasses is awesome and friendly such a people person. I will always recommend Wicker park eye center to my friends and family. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.O.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2020

The ladies there are very helpful and so nice. Love going there for my follow-ups. Highly recommend anyone in the humboldt park area go there for eye checks. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2020

All the staff working here was great. We ended up stepping my lens strength down because I thought my last eye doctor got it wrong. Dr. Christine is a good listener. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 21, 2020

Dr. Tepper took me of glaucoma meds that my previous doctor prescribed to me. He effectively controlled my eye pressure with meds that were much less caustic and much less expensive. Dr. Tepper is very through and attentive. He is also just a sincerely good person. Highly recommend him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 07, 2019

Excellent, thorough exam. Efficient staff More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2019

Spark notes version: I received kind, prompt, and expert care here. The ladies at reception are downright wonderful and, though a few times there was a little wait, it was generally no more than 10 minutes or so. The office is clean and staff is friendly; I saw Dr. Shah who was incredibly knowledgeable and who inspired confidence that I was receiving excellent care. The story: At the start of the year, I had sudden and severe pain in my left eye--I'm not one to go to doctors (yes, yes, i know I should), but this was beyond "wait and let it heal." I went to the urgent care and they assumed I had severe pink eye. After a week of treatment and worsening conditions (I could no longer open my eye, and when I forced it open, I couldn't see out of it. I really thought I was going to go blind in my left eye) they finally referred to Lotus Eye Care. I was almost immediately diagnosed with Iritis (inflammation in the eye). Dr. Shah was amazing; she prescribed a couple different eye drops and monitored the situation closely over a couple months. The pain (not to mention emotional) relief was almost instantaneous. Everything throughout my healing process was explained to me and I really felt that I knew what was going on and why certain treatments were prescribed, etc. Would definitely recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2019

Nice staff and great service. It’s just always extremely crowded every time I come here. But it’s worth it. And they work out great deals for designers glasses too. Which is awesome. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2019

The service is great. And so are the ladies working there. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2019

Dr Tepper is the best! He help me recover from a serious tear in my cornia. I would highly recommend him and his team! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2019

My experience at ( Wicker Park Eye Center), was just great everyone was really nice to me very Professional knew what they were doing and most of they explain all the detail they were going to do to me Thank You More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2019

Very friendly and attentive staff Dr krassin is very knowledgeable and patient and Jessica at the front Desk has amazing customer service and greets me and other customers with a genuine smile every time Every visit so far has been very pleasant! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2019

Wicker Park Eye Center really take excellent care of their patients. The staff is friendly and professional. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2019

I had such a wonderful experience at Wicker Park Eye Center. Anything involving your eyes is a nerve racking experience and Dr. Tepper made me feel so comfortable but more importantly well informed. He really took his time explaining to me what was wrong and provided proper treatment. The staff was also so lovely and welcoming :) Highly recommend! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 02, 2018

Had a great experience each time I’ve been here.  I was having an eye issue that I went to five other physicians about that were not able to help me and Dr. Shah was able to quickly diagnose the problem and I’ve had no issues since! The rest of the staff was also very friendly and efficient. Had little to no wait time for my appointments. Would definitely recommend to others!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 24, 2018

I first saw Dr. Tepper over six years ago, after relocating from California. That’s where I discovered I had glaucoma in both eyes. I also have a thin cornea, so my eye pressure has to be a bit below "normal" to preserve my vision.The first ophthalmologist I saw in Chicago didn’t specialize in glaucoma. (Something his office failed to tell me when I made the appointment.) Turns out that was for the best. He referred me to Dr. Tepper and Dr.T. is fantastic!In Cali, I had been prescribed two very strong (and very expensive) drugs  to keep my eye pressure from destroying my optic nerve and blinding me. Even so, Dr. Tepper told me right away that he thought I had been medicated too aggressively given my age and overall health (54 at the time). He asked me if I would consider alternate medications that are not as caustic.I went for it and he monitored the results. The bottom line is that my eye pressure remained under control just as well as it did with my previous "designer" meds! Also 10X cheaper! No exaggeration. The cost went from $300.00/Mo to $30.00/Mo.Because of Dr. Tepper, I was able to get off of two separate corporate drug assistance programs (which are bureaucratic nightmares) and just pay out of pocket. This really simplified my life. More than that, I’m getting first rate medical care. One visit I wondered out loud if my blood pressure was too high and Dr. T took a reading on the spot.  I never had an ophthalmologist take my BP before! Dr. Tepper factors in all aspects of my health and fitness. He is not a shill for big pharma like a lot of doctors. He stresses a healthy lifestyle  instead of solely relying on meds alone. He also shares info about leading edge treatments, studies and breakthroughs relevant to my condition. His practice is busy, but Dr. Tepper never makes me feel like he is in a hurry to see another patient. He is extremely personable and sincere. Because of this and his expertise, I referred my mom (age 95) to Dr. T. She is super picky about doctors and SHE chose Dr. Tepper for cataract surgery. That says it all! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2018

Great staff and very helpful. Highly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2018

I'm new to Chicago and as a first time patient going through the process of insurance changes, I have dealt with a LOT of unfriendly staff and doctor's offices. Wicker Park was totally different. All of the ladies at the front desk were nice and patient, as well as informative. The tech was also very sweet and the doctor was extremely kind and explained everything clearly and easily without scaring me. I will definitely refer this office to others. Thanks for everything! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2018

The BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE! This is how people should do their job. The staff is SUPER Friendly and Nice. The atmosphere at this clinic is so calm and clean. Everyone is relaxed and doing their job. Thank you so much Wicker Park Eye Center for the great experience on my visit. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 08, 2017

I am surprised to read about bad experiences at this practice.  I called two weeks ago on a Thursday because my 15 year old son lost vision in his left eye.  The administrative staff was courteous on the phone and said since this could be a serious situation the doctor could see us on Friday morning.  I had been calling opthlamologists for two hours Thursday morning and none would see us immediately or even within a week.  Upon check-in, the staff was courteous.  Our insurance doesn’t cover eye exams, so they asked for payment up front, which was fine.  We had to wait for about an hour before we were seen, which was fine since they got us in within a day of calling for an appointment. My son had an eye exam with an assistant and was given drops to dilate his eyes, and we waited about 30 more minutes before we were seen by Dr. Tepper - again, fine.  Dr. Tepper was courteous, fast paced, but thorough.  My son was diagnosed with a detached retina.  Dr. Tepper referred us to a retinal specialist, his staff called to set up an immediate appointment because of the seriousness of the situation, but that specialist was out for the day.  He made a second referral to a retinal specialist at UIC eye clinic.  His staff called and notified them of our situation and the doctor at UIC was ready and waiting for us when we arrived.  My son had surgery that Monday.  Because of Dr. Tepper’s willingness to see us quickly, his diagnosis and referral, my son might regain most of his vision in his eye.  If there is one thing I have learned about seeing a specialist, through this and previous experience, it is that they often run behind because they make concessions for emergency appointments, meaning maybe they are overbooked.  Doctor’s also get held up with patients who have a number of questions/concerns/problems.  I would rather know my specialist is committed to his patients, than churning them out as quickly as possible.  By the way, we have seen our retinal specialist twice since my son’s surgery, and the first time he was on time, but we waited two hours the second time.  He happens to be one of the best retinal specialists, and worth every minute of our wait.  I can say the same of Dr. Tepper. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 26, 2016

I scheduled an appointment because a minor vision issue had me scared and I was looking for some reassurance and peace of mind.  Dr. Tepper’s team was very professional, efficient, and explained what was wrong with my vision, and why it was occurring in layman’s terms. I was able to completely understand the severity of my issue and what my options were moving forward. Dr. Tepper spent additional time with me to make sure all of my questions were answered even though he was extremely busy. I highly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2016

They were able to squeeze myself and my girlfriend in for an emergency appointment. They were nice about it, didn't complain or appear to be inconvenienced. Even the doctor himself didn't appear like he was then trying to rush us out. Took his time, explained everything. Highly recommended. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2016

Tepper is one of the best eye doctors I have ever known. He's very thorough and compassionate. I always feel better when I get done being at his office and his phenomenal staff are super sweet. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 23, 2016

Called in Tuesday morning due to a speck of metal which was lodged on my pupil. Reception got me on the schedule for the afternoon. In and out in decent time, Dr Tepper was very patient with me and was able to remove the piece of metal with little fuss. This is the second time in 3 years I’ve had to get a piece of metal removed from my eye. In the previous occurrence the ophthalmologist who removed the foreign body prescribed me very expensive eye drops for the weeks following. At Wicker Park Eye Center Dr. T gave me similar/same eye drops from his cabinet which was unexpected and a huge relief for my wallet. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 18, 2015

Dr. Tepper knows his stuff. I struggled with other clinics trying to get my prescription right... and he nailed it. He also has a caring staff who are friendly and efficient. This place is usually crowded in the lobby... but that's because they are GOOD More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.Q.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 24, 2015

Very friendly staff. Knowledgable and always patient with me and my many questions. I feel comfortable coming here. I like that they really explain things to me and WHY we have to do certain tests and what the results mean. I recommend this eye doc for sure. Plus they don’t just fit you for contacts. This is an MD. They take care of your eye HEALTH. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2015

Everyone was so professional and considerate. The Doctor is very professional and compassionate, I highly recommend this eye center More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2015

The staff is kind courteous respectful and very professional. The clinic is very clean. I have visited Wicker Eye Park Center a few times, with each visit I have received excellent service. Dr. Tepper is the best ophthalmologist that I have seen in many years. He, like his staff, is also courteous respectful and very professional. Dr. Tepper listens to my concerns and explains everything carefully. I like the staff Dr. Tepper and the way that I am treated. I will remain with the center, other eye clinics that I have visited do not compare. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 14, 2015

Everyone was so professional and considerate. The Doctor is very professional and compassionate, I highly recommend this eye center.  The office is immaculate. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 30, 2015

I have tried to take down my other review with no success so I will just post this in its 0lace. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 30, 2014

My optometrist referred me to Dr. Tepper and I’m so glad he did!  In spite of the fact that Dr Tepper had to squeeze me into his busy schedule, I felt like I was his only patient when he evaluated and treated my eye infection.  He is one of those lucky individuals that found his true calling as a doctor.  Don’t worry if the waiting area is busy when you walk in. His office is very efficient, the staff does a great job processing his patients, and when Dr Tepper is with you, you have his full attention.    He is genuinely interested in delivering quality eye care to his patients and I, for one, am lucky to be one of his patients. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.V.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 21, 2014

I had an excellent experience at Wicker Park Eye Center.  As a medical student who has spent time at a number of different clinics, I would recommend this office.  The staff was courteous and capable.  The office was clean and recently renovated.  Of course, there was a slight wait for the doctor, but the office manager was actively moving things along and I never felt ignored or forgotten.  When the doctor arrived I felt like he cared about my problem, understood what I was trying to relate, and then was communicative about forming a plan for my treatment.  A couple side-notes: I was impressed with the level of Spanish that I overheard the doctor and his staff speaking in the room next to me.  Also, the doctor was well-informed about holistic/organic options in my treatment plan.  Parking is easy and the clinic location is ideal if you live or work anywhere near Wicker Park.  Totes awesome! Go here! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 08, 2013

Wicker Park Eye Center ROCKS!!!Needed new glasses and these folks in Wicker Park did not disappoint.  Got an appointment a week in advance.  They took my insurance.  Easy free parking in the lot, waiting room was clean. Magazines were decent. Didn’t have to wait long to see Dr. Tepper.Once I met with Dr. Tepper, I sort of went on this wild informational, informative yet completely interesting, almost entertaining, journey through the different intricacies and functions of the human eye.  This gentleman physician has a charisma about him that will help you not only see better, but simply make you WANT to take better care of your eyes.  It was refreshing to finally find a doctor who I know I would come back to again and again.  I really only thought this was something you see in the movies, but hands down an excellent experience and I highly recommend Wicker Park Eye place for any eye problem, glasses or contacts. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Aug 22, 2012

Changing Surgery dates without asking Patience first - Doctor is very professional and very care but when I did an Appointment for cataract surgery with a month in advanced someone call me and tell me to call back when I call back 3 days later, i just found that the date of surgery changed, without let me know first. Too much effort from my part to get days off at work for nothing. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Aug 15, 2009

Five Stars - Very patient. Answered all my questions. Fantasic vision with new eyeglasses. Friendly staff. Explained glaucoma and cataracts in ways I could easily understand. Would recommend his office to anyone! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.